Worked example
How to read a provider record
Every number on this site is either published by a government register, derived from published values, or modelled by us. Below is one real record — Peel Montessori School in Mississauga — with each field explained line by line.
Published by source
11
Straight from the licence register.
Derived
4
Normalised or mapped from published values.
Modelled
4
Estimates — verify with the centre.
Source of record
Child Care Centres — Region of Peel
- Publisher
- Region of Peel Data Portal
- Licence
- Open Government Licence – Peel
- Publisher snapshot
- 2026-08-07
- Refresh cadence
- Updated as inventory changes
Mississauga, Brampton and Caledon centres from Peel's ArcGIS feature service, including school-based and subsidy-eligible sites.
Loaded into this catalogue 2026-08-07 00:00 UTC.
Open the original datasetField by field
Centre name
Published by sourcePeel Montessori School
Licensed operating name exactly as it appears in Region of Peel Data Portal — Child Care Centres — Region of Peel. We only trim whitespace and fix casing.
Operator
Published by sourcePeel Montessori School
Licensee / corporate operator field from the same record. Where the source leaves it blank we repeat the centre name.
Auspice
Derived from sourceSchool-board
The source publishes a free-text operator type (e.g. "Board Operated", "Private", "Non Profit"). We map those strings onto five standard buckets: Commercial, Municipal, Non-profit, School-board, Home-based.
Address / city / region
Published by source964 Meadow Wood Road, Mississauga — Peel Region, ON
Street address and municipality straight from the licence record. Region is the publishing authority's service area.
Postal code
Published by source— (not published in this record)
Normalised to the A1A 1A1 format when present. Blank means this publisher omits it for the site.
Coordinates (map pin)
Published by source43.51845, -79.62020 — exact location
Latitude/longitude published by the source's own geocoded feature service for this street address. This is why the card shows an "Exact location" chip.
Phone / email / website
Published by source(905) 823-6522
Contact fields as published. We never invent contact details: if the register has no email or site, the field stays empty and the card hides it.
Licensed capacity
Published by source90 spaces
Total licensed spaces across all age programs, summed from the per-program space counts in the licence record (infant + toddler + preschool + kindergarten + school-age).
Age groups
Derived from sourceInfant (0–18 mo), Toddler (18–30 mo), Preschool (2.5–4 yr), Kindergarten, School age
An age band is listed when the source reports one or more licensed spaces for that program. No spaces reported = band omitted, even if the centre advertises it.
Open spaces (vacancies)
Modelled estimate6 — vacancies estimated
This publisher does not release vacancy data. The number is modelled from licensed capacity and typical utilisation — always confirm with the centre. For this record: 90 licensed spaces at roughly 93% modelled utilisation leaves 6. Treat it as a likelihood-of-space signal, not a booking guarantee — confirm with the centre.
Waitlist
Modelled estimateShort wait (estimated)
No Canadian open register publishes live waitlist length, so parents see a band rather than a precise week count. It is an estimate driven by the modelled vacancy pressure, age mix and local demand density for the area — for this record the underlying modelled value is about 2 weeks. A shorter band means space is likely to turn over soon, not a promised date.
Daily fee
Modelled estimate$11.80 – $68.44 / day
Daily fee is shown as a range $11.80 – $68.44 because this source does not report whether the centre is enrolled in CWELCC ($10-a-day). The low end is the reduced-fee band, the high end is the regional full-fee benchmark for a school-board centre with this age mix. Neither is a quote — ask the centre for its current fee schedule.
CWELCC enrolled
Published by sourceNot reported
Canada-Wide Early Learning & Child Care participation flag from the provincial/municipal register — shown only where the publisher reports it. 'Not reported' means the source register does not publish enrolment status; it does not mean the centre is enrolled.
Fee subsidy accepted
Published by sourceNot reported
Subsidy-agreement flag held by the service-system manager (CMSM/DSSAB), shown only where the publisher reports it. 'Not reported' means the register does not publish subsidy status — it does not mean the centre refuses subsidy. Eligibility is assessed by the municipality, not the centre.
Languages
Derived from sourceEnglish
Languages of service as listed by the source. Where the register only records "English/French", we do not add community languages the centre may also offer.
Hours / extended hours
Derived from source7:00 – 18:00
Operating hours as published; where the register gives only a day-part we fall back to the licence-typical 7:00–18:00 window. "Extended hours" is set when the source flags evening, overnight or weekend care.
Rating
Modelled estimate5.0 / 5
There is no official public rating for Canadian childcare. This is an internal composite (licence standing, inspection recency where published, capacity stability) used only to break ties in sorting — it is not a review score and not an endorsement.
Last inspection
Published by source— (not published by this source)
Shown only when the publisher releases inspection dates. Peel's feed does not, so it stays blank rather than being guessed.
Source ID
Published by sourceon-peel
Internal key linking this record back to its dataset entry, so every field above can be traced to one publisher, licence and snapshot date.
The short version
Licence facts — name, address, capacity, CWELCC, subsidy, contact — are trustworthy and traceable. Fees, open spaces, waitlist weeks and rating are estimates that help you shortlist and sort; they are never a substitute for calling the centre. Confidence chips on every card and detail page tell you which is which, along with the date that source was last refreshed.